Wave Of New Pot Regulations Totally Harshing Colorado Stoners' Buzz

More About This Story

Wave Of New Pot Regulations Totally Harshing Colorado Stoners' Buzz

Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper signed a series of bills on Tuesday to regulate pot, which has been legal since November. The laws are aimed to regulate the use and distribution. 

As with alcohol, pot is only availble for those over the age of 21 and there are limits for anyone driving under the influence. A driver can have no more than 5 nanograms of THC per milliliter of blood, or the state-order equivalent to .08 B.A.C. with alcohol.

The difference with booze is that state law stipulates how much one might have at a time; a person can buy up to one ounce from a dispensary or grow up to 6 plants. When purchasing the product, the state will put a 15 percent excise tax plus an additional 10 percent sales tax that pile up on the already existing 2.9 percent state tax. Pot cannot be sold at restaurants and even any marijuana-centric magazines, such as High Times, have to be sold behind the counter with the pornos.

The topper to all of this: Federal law -- which still holds pot as totally illegal -- still trumps all.